2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup India 2023

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup India 2023

1. Introduction:

Cricket fans all over the planet are getting ready for a mind-boggling cricketing breathtaking as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 methodologies. This article makes sense of all that you want to realize about this four-year cricket event.

2. Outline of the challenge:

2.1 Nation of Hosts and Dates:

India will have the thirteenth Cricket World Cup, which will happen from October 5 to November 19, 2023.

2.2 Participating Teams:

Ten national teams will compete in the tournament: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. Notably, the West Indies missed out for the first time in their history.

2.3 Defending Champions:

England enters the tournament as the defending champions, having clinched the title in the 2019 edition by defeating New Zealand in a nail-biting final.

3. Background of the Tournament:

Originally scheduled for February- March 2023, the tournament was moved to October- November due to disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The schedule was released in June 2023, after resolving issues like the PCB’s threat to boycott the Asia Cup and the qualification process.

4. Qualification Process:

4.1 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League:

Qualification primarily relied on the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, with the top eight sides earning automatic berths. Hosts India, finishing fourth, were guaranteed a spot.

4.2 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier:

In June and July 2023, the remaining two places were determined through the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, with surprising exclusions of former winners West Indies, Ireland, and Zimbabwe.

5. Trophy Tour:

The trophy tour commenced with the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy launched into the stratosphere, making its way through multiple countries before returning to India.

6. Venues:

Matches will be held at ten different stadiums, with the semi-finals at Wankhede Stadium and Eden Gardens and the final at Narendra Modi Stadium.

7. Mascot:

The tournament introduces mascots “Tonk” and “Blaze,” representing gender equality and diversity from the fictional cricketing utopia called Crictoverse.

8. Official Anthem:

The official anthem, “Dil Jashn Bole,” features a star-studded lineup and is set to capture the spirit of the tournament.

9. Squads:

All teams finalized their 15-player squads by 28th September, showcasing a mix of experience and youth.

10. Match Officials:

A team of 20 match officials, including umpires, was named for the tournament, ensuring fair play throughout.

11. Prize Money:

The ICC announced a total prize money pool of $10 million, with the winner set to receive $4 million, ensuring fierce competition.

12. Warm-up Matches:

Warm-up matches will be held from 29th September to 3rd October 2023, offering teams a chance to fine-tune their strategies.

13. Group Stage:

The group stage begins with a high-stakes encounter between finalists New Zealand and England, setting the tone for an exhilarating tournament.


The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be a cricketing spectacle like no other, with top teams battling it out for the prestigious title. Get ready to witness breathtaking cricketing action, unexpected upsets, and unforgettable moments!

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off the adblocker to visit the side